John Bocook
2 min readMay 6, 2016

I’m not tooting my horn here but I’m a fairly intelligent person. When it comes to writing or explaining the crazy crap running through my head however — utter failure. Expressing myself is not a skill the almighty cast with my persona. If repeating words, improper sentance structure and confusing context were grades, I’d be a straight A student.

Taking advice from every book or speech ever given — I’m going to start writing more.

I never really put much stock in formal education. Especially in the software development industry where college classes focus more on theory than real world application. Quite a few college graduates have crossed my path by either interviewing for a dev position where I’m on the pannel or collabarating during some project. Each passing year the number of competent candidates the higher ed industry produces. shrinks even though cost is at an all time high. Surging over 500% since 1985 I question if the price of admission is even worth the ride. Most college graduates struggle at just landing an entry level interview. Four years of classes taught 100 different ways to write a paper but not one of them showed you how to actually GET a job.

Don’t get me wrong, education is uber important. The problem is passion and the desire for improvement isn’t teachable, yet mandatory for any position in IT. Technology moves way too fast for anyone not obsessed with it. Programming is not for the uninterested.

Whenever stepping into a new team or company I consistently fear my skills won’t be able to hack it expecting to be called out as a fraud. Know how many times this became reality? Zero. Not a single time.

Am I so good each line of code is a cakewalk? Heck No. Does feeling in over my head push me to work harder? You better believe it. You can’t teach drive. It’s not an elective offered at the local community college. No amount of student loans can teach you how to hustle. You either have it or your mediocre.

John Bocook

Driven by ADHD and passion. Developer turned CIO that still knows how to write code and deploy systems.